Who Pays When the Other Driver Isn’t Insured?

Missouri law requires all drivers and vehicle owners maintain liability insurance coverage. Liability insurance covers one’s legal liability when harms and losses happen as a result of a driver’s negligence. Missouri law requires a driver have liability insurance providing at least $25,000 of coverage for each person injured in a crash.

Nevertheless, the Missouri Department of Revenue reports that thousands of Missouri citizens are involved in collisions each year involving drivers who fail to keep the required insurance. In such a case you may make a claim under the uninsured motor vehicle coverage provided by the policy you purchased to protect you.

Uninsured motor vehicle coverage provides benefits when you’re involved in a crash caused by another motorist who didn’t have insurance. Insurers are required to include uninsured motor vehicle coverage on all automobile insurance policies sold in Missouri. Again, policies must have at least $25,000 of coverage for each injured person.

No, your rates will not go up for making a claim under the uninsured motor vehicle coverage because Missouri law protects you. An insurer cannot raise its rates because its insured made a claim against a policy for injuries or property damage resulting from a crash for which the insured is not responsible. State regulation directs: “In no event shall an insurer request an increase in premium from any insured in connection with any claim arising out of any accident for which the insured was not at fault.” 20 CSR 500-2.600(3).

In sum, there is absolutely no reason to not pursue a claim against your motor vehicle insurance policy when the at-fault driver is uninsured. Of course, these claims – called first-party claims – do demand particular expertise. Insurance policies are contracts. And, the injured person must comply with every policy provision to make a successful claim under the insurance contract. Not all lawyers are familiar with these claims and the steps necessary to press the matter. When interviewing potential personal injury attorneys to represent you, be sure to ask about their experience handling first-party insurance claims.

If you or a loved one have suffered accident injuries in a car accident call Northland Injury Law at 816-400-4878 to speak to a Missouri automobile accident lawyer today for help in recovering the compensation you need. An experienced personal injury attorney can ease some of the burden by engaging in fact-finding, gathering the necessary documentation, and crafting concise and thorough demands for settlement of your claim.

Recent Posts



Request Your Free Consultation

“*“indicates Required Fields

"*" indicates required fields

I Have Read The Disclaimer*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.